Making Teenagers Depressed is like Shooting Fish in a Barrel

 

 

June 26th. 1996. Spin Magazine. Smashing Pumpkins. The beginning of the end. 

Image

 

via

I remember sitting in the back of my friend’s parent’s car, on our way to dinner, when she pulls out this magazine.  A strange group of angst-driven looking individuals, with too much eyeliner and excessive baby oil in a superimposed jungle backdrop. Mmm…”Who are they?” Innocently asking. “The pumpkins! The Smashing Pumpkins! Isn’t he hot!?” she says…”umm sure, whatever”. I have never been too much of a drooler over the Uncle Fester type, but why not.  

Image

don’t be too jell-o, I have met the man, but this one is a fake

Little did I know that this would become my obsession for the next 10+ years. From there on out I was 99% sure that I would become the next Mrs. Corgan and we would live happily ever after in a giant purple mansard-roofed mansion in Wrigleyville and Billy would serenade with his despondent melodies. I saw their shows, wore the shirts, had every factoid down, and every inch of my room was plastered with pumpkin paraphernalia. Infatuated? I think so.

Image

via

Nevertheless, I am not here to tell you that he’s 6’-4”, once lived in a parking garage, and is a self-described “wrestlemaniac”, but about the Fan Tribute Show  that is scheduled for today, Oct 5th. to commemorate Billy, Jimmy, D’arcy and James stepping onto the stage at the Metro in Chicago for the first time.   It will be held at Billy Corgan’s teahouse in Highland Park, IL. and will start at noon and go till closing time.

 

Image

via

Can’t go? That’s OK, because there will be a live web-streamstarting at 5:30pm CST, via YouTube.

Image

via

Well, now it is time for me to go watch some Vieuphoria and plug-in the headphones for some peace and Quiet

 

 

Leave a Reply

