Rabbits of Doom

Rabbit rabbit rabbit!!

20131001-112913.jpg
via
Twenty years ago I was out on a bike ride with one of my classmates when I started going too fast and couldn’t stop. The bike spun out from beneath me and I was launched forward off the bike and in doing so, the spokes from the bike ripped up the side of my leg. Now, I wasn’t a genius paramedic, there were no cell phones or great forms of getting in-touch with anyone, so what did I do? I ran (pretty sure it was more like hobbled) down to a grocery store and there on the floor, with my leg bleeding like the Hoover Dam just broke, I waited for my parents to come rescue me.
Now I was a very superstitious kid and to this day, I always believed that I had this mishap because I didn’t say “rabbit rabbit rabbit” the first thing in the morning.
This phrase I guess comes from a British superstition which states that a person should say or repeat the word “rabbit” or “rabbits”, or say the phrase “white rabbits”, or some combination of these elements, out loud upon waking on the first day of the month, because doing so will ensure good luck for the duration of that month. Since I didn’t do this, I was doomed from the start. I also blame it all on Nickelodeon.
During the 90’s, Nickelodeon helped popularize the superstition with its “Nick Days”, where during commercial breaks it would show an ad about the significance of the current date. Nickelodeon would promote the last day of each month as “Rabbit Rabbit Day” and to remind kids to say it the next day. So thanks Linda Ellerbee, I’ll forever think I’m cursed if I don’t say Rabbits the first day of the month.

2 thoughts on “Rabbits of Doom

Leave a Reply

