Vampire Weekend: New Album

20130513-220603.jpg

Happy Vampire Weekend album release day! I pre-ordered mine and was quite ecstatic to receive the circled “1” letting me know I had an email from iTunes, stating VW was ready for consumption.

David Malitz, of The Washington Post summed up my appreciation for this clean-cut New York band: “Authenticity” in music is one of those impossible to quantify yet constantly in demand qualities. It’s almost always associated with some level of misery and pain, as if that’s the only path to great art. Surely the members of Vampire Weekend have had their share of suffering, but who’s going to buy depressing music from a bunch of good-looking Columbia grads, anyway?

“Not I” said the walrus, not I..

Leave a Reply

