Kicking the Habit

Happy All-Saints Day everyone! I hope that Halloween was well celebrate and lots of fun and eating was involved in your evening of satanic rituals…and really I hope the most satanic you got was making the mummy cakes and eating them.

Now that the day of candy worship is over, I have had some much needed reflection on what it is I am actually doing to my body by all of the overly crappy things I have been putting into it.

The night before Halloween, I came down with a wicked flu like feeling. No ya’ll, I’m not pregnant, I am just not eating what I should be eating. I thought that since I was a vegetarian and a fan of running, I was set, I could eat anything that I wanted and be okay. This is not the case.

As with most people, the more sugar I ate, the more I wanted, and the worse I would feel.

Things need to change!

So, as of yesterday I have started on a 30 day-vegan-focus-plan. I hate saying vegan anything, cause I feel like I am setting myself up for failure if I realize I ate something with casein in it! So I would like to call it a very strict vegetarian diet.

I wanted to share my little journey with whomever would be interested in going along with me.  Hoping this little stint will give me more energy, better focus, and lessen the desire to go to bed at 8pm!

Yesterday, since I was sick, I mainly just kept hydrated and had some whole wheat pita with pine nut hummus from a local Jewish bakery (La Brea Market has the BEST pita ever!!! Handmade daily)

For dinner it was a meal of roasted root vegetables. Something that would hopefully kick-start my intestines into cleanliness. So here is my recipe for the day. This was PERFECT by the way!!! I can not wait to make more of these.

 

20121101-125135.jpgmy organic beets

 

What You Need:

2-1/2 pounds sweet potatoes, parsnips, and beets, peeled and diced
1 large yellow onion, diced
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper

What You Do:

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees, and line a sheet pan with parchment paper. In a large bowl, toss potatoes, parsnips, beets, onion, oil, cumin, salt, and pepper.

2. Spread vegetables evenly on prepared sheet pan. Roast for 50 minutes, or until soft and lightly browned, flipping mixture after 25 minutes. Serve warm.

20121101-125142.jpg

This picture does not do it justice, but I was not too motivated to take beauty shots last night!

This tasty treat came from VegNews!

Leave a Reply

